Rags to riches: Chair redo

I found this Victorian chair in one of my favourite second-hand shops in Halifax.  Bonus, it’s near the hair salon I go to.  I had a few minutes to waste before my hair appointment so I went ‘window shopping’.  I saw this chair and fell in love. I thought “I really need a desk chair!” and this was perfect.  The chair was in need of a redo; ripped and saggy seat, dull wood frame…but in great shape.  And it was $20!  So I bought it and carried it down to the salon.  Don’t think my hair stylist was surprised I brought furniture to his salon.  😉

Before I get to the before pictures, I apologize for the phone pics!  I didn’t have my camera ready when I needed it.  If you’re looking for a full tutorial for reupholstering a chair, here is a great one to check out from Design Sponge.

Here’s the chair in all its shabby glory!

Balloon back chair @ Pivot~Paint~Create Balloon back chair @ Pivot~Paint~Create Balloon back chair @ Pivot~Paint~Create Balloon back chair @ Pivot~Paint~Create

Once I got it home and started tearing it apart, I noticed it was a great find.  Gotta love chairs that haven’t been refinished before.  It had the original seat and horsehair fill.  It was pretty dusty and messy!  I always tend to cut myself when I work on a chair.  This redo was no exception!

 After getting the dirty work done I was ready to start the fun part.  I had sprained my ankle at work, and was off for a few days.  Luckily, I could work on this chair while sitting down!  Once I had the chair down to the frame, I cleaned up the wood with Restor-a-finish.  I don’t mind painting wood, but I thought paint wouldn’t suit this chair.  It looked much better after cleaning it up.  I replaced the seat with new webbing, foam and batting.  I chose navy fabric that would go great with the wood.  I just love how it turned out!

    Balloon back chair @ Pivot~Paint~Create  Balloon back chair @ Pivot~Paint~Create

Balloon back chair @ Pivot~Paint~Create   Balloon back chair @ Pivot~Paint~Create

Here she is!

Balloon back chair @ Pivot~Paint~Create Balloon back chair @ Pivot~Paint~Create

Thanks for stopping in,  ’til next time!

Laurena

Sharing @ Miss Mustard Seed

That-DIY-Party-link-party-button

8 thoughts on “Rags to riches: Chair redo

  1. Just fabulous! Do you know the name of the fabric. Love the contrast with the darker wood and agree it would have been a shame to paint it. Just found you through MMS link-up.

  2. Pingback: A room to dream of. | Pivot ~ Paint ~ Create

Leave a Reply

