Getting out of a rut: antique dresser redo.

The past year I realized I was stuck in a rut.  I was spending my spare time refinishing furniture for other people and ignoring my own.   I wanted to surround myself with pieces I was proud of and weren’t just filling space.   I needed a new dresser! I hunted for one with good bones and character.  I found this charmer on kijiji.  The dresser was perfect.  It was fairly old and needed some TLC, but I loved it anyway!  I loved the simple lines, the key holes, castor feet AND it came with a mirror!  The pictures don’t portray how bad the finish was: sticky, stained, scratched and just plain icky.
oak dresser @ Pivot~Paint~Create

oak dresser @ Pivot~Paint~Create

oak dresser@ Pivot~Paint~Create

oak dresser @ Pivot~Paint~Create

oak dresser @ Pivot~Paint~Create

 I stripped and sanded the whole dresser before painting.  It took a few coats to eat through the old finish.  I chose a stripper that was environmentally friendly, but it was still smelly.  Key part to stripping, do it outside!  Wait a second…er, you know what I mean! 😉

oak dresser@ Pivot~Paint~Create

On the base and mirror I used milk paint. I mixed Slate and Buttermilk (Old Fashioned Milk Paint) to make a light grey.  I didn’t add a bonding agent since I figured the bare wood would soak up the paint.   I didn’t want too much chippy-ness, so I was hoping for the best!

oak dresser@ Pivot~Paint~Create

oak dresser @ Pivot~Paint~Create

 I stained the top and drawer fronts dark walnut, sealing with Hemp Oil (Miss Mustard Seed).  First time using hemp oil and I loved it!  It has a slight grassy smell and doesn’t give me a headache.  Perfect for refinishing furniture indoors.

I kept the original hardware after giving them a good cleaning and  spray painting with oil-rubbed bronze.  I wish I saw this tip before I spray painted mine!

oak dresser @ Pivot~Paint~Create

I absolutely love the way it turned out.  The colour is a nice light grey-blue.  The paint adhered well to the raw wood and cracked nicely.  I was tempted to get a new mirror cut, but after living with the dresser for awhile, I love the imperfect, antique character.

 oak dresser @ Pivot~Paint~Create

oak dresser @ Pivot~Paint~Create

oak dresser@ Pivot~Paint~Create

oak dresser@ Pivot~Paint~Create

Thanks for stopping in!  Until next time!

Laurena

One thought on “Getting out of a rut: antique dresser redo.

Leave a Reply

