Drab to fab, night stand redo.

Here’s a quick post about a nightstand I refinished last month.  I’m lucky to have a few friends who message me when they’re getting rid of furniture.  Of course I can’t refuse!  Before Christmas my friends’ parents gave me two dressers and a nightstand.  I haven’t refinished the dressers yet.  My plan is to re-stain the dresser tops and haven’t had a chance to sand the tops yet.  But I did get a chance to make over the nightstand.

When I look at a piece of furniture, I love seeing beyond the drab and boring.  The two dressers and the nightstand are great pieces, they were just missing a  little somethin.’  The nightstand was nice and sturdy and well made so I didn’t have to fix anything before painting.  I love when that happens!  I just opened a can of Coastal Blue milk paint (General FInishes) and started painting.  I kept it simple; paint, distressing and then sealed with polycrylic.  For the drawer I lined it with old book pages, sealing them with polycrylic as well.  I finished the piece with a drawer pull from Anthropologie and a fun basket for storage.  Here are the before and afters!

Before:

navy night stand before @ Pivot~Paint~Create

navy night stand before @ Pivot~Paint~Create

navy night stand before @ Pivot~Paint~Create

After:navy night stand @ Pivot~Paint~Create

navy night stand @ Pivot~Paint~Create

navy night stand @ Pivot~Paint~Create navy night stand @ Pivot~Paint~Create

I just love the navy blue don’t you?  What’s your favorite colour trend for furniture?

Thanks for stopping in!  Until next time,

Laurena

Sharing @: Miss Mustard Seed

3 thoughts on “Drab to fab, night stand redo.

  1. Pingback: Snow White in Spring | Pivot ~ Paint ~ Create

Leave a Reply

