Ooo La La! French chair makeover.

The past couple of months, I was trying to avoid buying furniture to redo.  I have a few pieces waiting to be refinished in my workshop.  BUT after seeing this chair, I couldn’t pass on it.  My friend saw it on kijiji, sent me the link…and I was smitten. Looking at the before picture, it needed some work.  I knew it would be a fun chair to work on.

 Before:french chair before  @ Pivot~Paint~Create french chair before  @ Pivot~Paint~Create

At first, I had planned on changing the wood colour, but after the first coat of the darker stain, I didn’t like it.  I’m not one to paint wood just because it’s dated looking.  I think a little change in stain colour can do wonders.  But not in this case.  The carvings in the wood and the shape of the chair wasn’t being shown off like it could.  So I grabbed a can of ASCP Paris Grey and started painting.  I’m happy I changed my mind.  I applied a couple of coats of Paris Grey and then waxed with clear wax and dark wax.  Since I changed my mind on keeping the wood, I also had to rethink my fabric choice.  Luckily I had some fabric in stock that would go perfect with the painted chair.  I chose a whimiscal suzani print with grey, citron, and blue.  And finished with ivory gimp trim.

I just love how the chair turned out!  Another piece sold…that I almost kept myself.  I’m happy to see the chair go to a good home.  🙂

After:french chair @ Pivot~Paint~Create french chair @ Pivot~Paint~Create french chair @ Pivot~Paint~Create french chair @ Pivot~Paint~Create french chair @ Pivot~Paint~Create french chair @ Pivot~Paint~Create

Thanks for stopping by!  Until next time!

Laurena

Sharing @: Miss Mustard Seed

Leave a Reply

