English country to Paris chic.

Every now and then, I vow to stay away from Kijiji and avoid buying more furniture.  I keep telling myself, “You have enough furniture to work on!”  or “You should save money for some new clothes!” But it happens every time, I last a day or two…then I get bored.  I go on Kijiji, “just to look” and I see something that’s calling for a redo!

That’s what happened the day I found this bench.  The bench had a few things going for it, great legs, a flip top with storage and was sturdy.  But the wood was scratched up and looked tired.  It also had an English country motif on top.  Not my style, for sure….but look at those legs!

I love a nice, curvy leg. 😉

small storage bench before @ Pivot~Paint~Create

small storage bench before  @ Pivot~Paint~Create

small storage bench before @ Pivot~Paint~Create

small storage bench before  @ Pivot~Paint~Create

At first I wasn’t sure if I should paint it or sand the wood and restain it.  After I started sanding, I noticed the base of the bench was made out of poor quality wood.  It wouldn’t take the stain the same as the legs and it would look odd.  I decided to paint it black and distress it, to hide any imperfections.  I used my go-to black, Lamp Black from General Finishes and sealed with polycrylic (this one from Varathane).

For fabric, I used this french script print.  I had removed the heavy chain, and replaced it with a piece of gimp trim to keep the top from flipping over.

Here she is!  Less country, more chic.

small storage bench after  @ Pivot~Paint~Create

small storage bench after  @ Pivot~Paint~Create

small storage bench after @ Pivot~Paint~Create

And another shot of those legs!

small storage bench after  @ Pivot~Paint~Create

I just love the finished bench.  It amazes me how paint can change a piece of furniture.  Within an hour of posting this on my Facebook page, it sold!   A good friend (and repeat customer!) will soon have this charmer in their home!

I can’t say it enough, I love my friends and family!  They have supported me through this furniture adventure and keep me going with their kind words.

Thanks for stopping in!

Until next time,

Laurena



Sharing @

That-DIY-Party-link-party-button

grabbuttonfeatured

Leave a Reply

