Hand-me-downs

I must say, my favourite kind of furniture pieces are hand-me-downs.  Furniture can have so much history behind it.  The many houses they have sat in, the people who have used the pieces, and the memories made around them.  It means more to me having furniture with family history than to buy something new in a box store.

A couple of years ago my boyfriend’s parents were trying to declutter their home and were getting rid of some furniture.  Right away my ears perked up and I offered to take some. I love helping someone declutter! 😉

They had given me an old rocker, a couple of chairs and some tables, an old wooden shovel and a wooden tool box.  Of course, before I sell anything, I like to go through and weed out items to keep.  I kept the shovel, tool box, 2 chairs and a table.  All of them had family history attached to them or were just too unique to give up!

 I decided to refinish one of the chairs and a half moon table.  I loved their simple character and the fact they had been in their family for a couple generations.  So they deserved a pick me up!  Both were made of beautiful wood but the varnish was peeling and scratched.

Here’s the before of the chair:

Nicks chair before 1 Nicks chair before 2

 I sanded down the chair and re-stained it in dark walnut (from Minwax).  The seat originally was caned but over time was damaged and replaced with fiber board. I made a new seat and upholstered it in a masculine stripe.  I planned to give the chair as a Christmas gift to my boyfriend.  Normally I would have chosen a cute floral fabric or grain sack but I chose colours he would like.  I’m such a nice girlfriend!  😉

Here’s the finished chair:

antique chair @ Pivot~Paint~Create Antique chair @ Pivot~Paint~Create

I’ve seen a few half-moon tables on kijiji or in antique stores, but not many had nice legs or wood grain like this one.

Half moon table @ Pivot~Paint~Create

The table had quite the wobble to it so I took it apart and re-glued all of the joints with Gorilla glue (I love those commercials!).

half moon table @ Pivot~Paint~Create

Since I loved the wood grain on the table top, I didn’t want to hide it.  I went with Special Walnut (from Minwax) which is a beautiful, mid-tone stain.   It was the first time using Special walnut, and I’m hooked. The base I painted using a custom mix of Lamp Black and Antique White milk paint (General Finishes).  I wish I had written the recipe down, the colour turned out awesome!  I sealed everything with Hemp Oil.  The wood was so old and dry, it need some moisture!  The hemp oil made the wood look so much better!  I love the grain even more.

Here’s the after!

half moon table @ Pivot~Paint~Create Half moon table @ Pivot~Paint~Create

half moon table @ Pivot~Paint~Create

Have you received hand-me-down furniture? Or do you have a favourite heirloom piece from your family?  Have you dared to refinish it or did you leave it untouched?

Thanks for stopping in!

Until next time,

Laurena



Sharing @

FFF.banner1

grabbuttonfeatured

2 thoughts on “Hand-me-downs

  1. Laurena, I’m in love with half-moon tables! I have one that belonged to my maternal grandparents. I remember exactly where in their house it sat when I visited as a child. I have been thinking I would paint it, but seeing this one you did with the wooden top refinished I tho’t it was so pretty and I think that I will do the same to my table. This is the first I’ve read your blog and I have signed up to follow it, so I’m looking forward to more “furniture rescues”.

Leave a Reply

