Eastlake chairs, redo in progress.

 Around Halifax, we don’t have a huge variety in furniture styles in secondhand stores or on Kijiji.  Its hard to find good quality furniture, unless you want to pay a lot.  Its important to a furniture flipper, like myself, to get the best bargain but still get quality pieces.  Occasionally I find a nice antique dresser or commode, and if I’m lucky, a Queen Anne chair.  I’ve been dying to find an Empire dresser or fun serpentine dresser.  Something with interest, and well…different.

A few weeks ago, I saw some unique chairs on kijiji.  Two Eastlake dining chairs.  I was excited, but didn’t know what I’d do with them.  They had orange velvet fabric on the seats, which definitely had to go.  They had castors and looked in good condition.  But I wasn’t inspired yet.  Until I saw this post by Rachel from Shades of Blue Interiors.   I was in love!  The floral fabric with the masculine lines of the chair, it made me swoon!   It was a perfect way to update the chairs.

Unfortunately, when I saw the post and knew I had to get the chairs from Kijiji, I was in Montreal on vacation.  I was crossing my fingers the chairs wouldn’t be snatched up before I got back home.  After arriving safe and sound in Halifax, I contacted the guy about the chairs.  Lucky me, they were still available!!  Here are the lovely chairs.

Eastlake chairs before @ Pivot~Paint~Create

 Eastlake chairs before @ Pivot~Paint~Create

 Eastlake chairs before @ Pivot~Paint~Create

Eastlake chairs before @ Pivot~Paint~Create

Now that I had the chairs, I had to find the right fabric.  I try to plan a project by either picking the paint or a fabric first and go from there.  I couldn’t decide whether to keep the chair as is or paint them.  I had seen so many inspiring pictures on Pinterest.  But couldn’t decide how I wanted the chairs to look.  Finally I settled on a fabric, with beautiful reds, creams and tan colours from Fabric.com.

P Kaufmann toscana tile crimson

Now to decide…to paint or not to paint?  I was thinking I may paint the chairs a creamy white and use dark wax. Or should I go black or keep the wood or…..??  I’ll probably change my mind a few times before I start refinishing the chairs.  I still have to strip the old fabric off and I hope to start the chairs next week.  So stay tuned!

If you have suggestions on what to do with the chairs, feel free to comment!

Until next time!

Laurena



Sharing @

fffbutton2

Leave a Reply

