Playing with Fusion paint.

I have a love hate relationship with certain pieces of furniture in my apartment.  One is the coffee table in the living room. It’s got a classic style, nice and big, with a shelf for storage. But it’s a tad ugly and the wood veneer is damaged.  I’ve wanted to paint it for awhile but couldn’t decide on what colour. I have a few painted pieces in my living room, in greys, black and white. I didn’t have a vision yet for what to do with the table…

While browsing the facebook page of a shop an hour away, I noticed they sell Fusion mineral paint.  The paint was on my bucket list and wanted to try sometime.  They have quite a few beautiful Fusion paint colours. With help from my Mr, I chose Ash, a nice dark grey.   So on my way to Cape Breton one weekend, I stopped off at Onslow Historic Lumber for the paint and a little shopping.  I bought a couple pints of the paint…and some knobs and MMS white wax…I couldn`t resist!

This week I broke out the paint and tackled the coffee table. Fusion paint is awesome. The first coat has great coverage. I did 2 coats, using a brush at first and a foam brush for the top for a smooth finish.

The paint claims it has a built in top coat, but I applied 3 coats of satin Varathane. The table needed to be durable.
I just love how it turned out. The colour is beautiful and the table looks new. Finally, get to check that off the to do list!

Here’s the before…hard to see the legs, but it’s the only picture I have. Oops.

apt 9

Here’s the after!
image

image

Have you tried Fusion Mineral Paint yet?  Let me know what you think!

Until next time!

Laurena

3 thoughts on “Playing with Fusion paint.

  1. Pingback: Finally, Eastlake Chairs are finished! | Pivot ~ Paint ~ Create

  2. Pingback: Side tables | Pivot ~ Paint ~ Create

Leave a Reply

