Classic polka.

This weekend I finished a cute chair for a client.  I mentioned the chair in this post about Bar Keepers Friend.  The frame cleaned up beautifully!  There are still a couple of imperfections in the metal, but it looks so much better!

Here’s the before…

DSC_0686 DSC_0681

And the chair frame after cleaning…

DSC_0702

Now that the frame is sparkling, I started working on the chair seats.  There were three layers of vinyl on them.  It’s always tedious to take the old fabric off and to remove the staples.   But its a necessary evil to make the chair look like new.  After removing the fabric and old padding, I sprayed the wood with a deodorizer and let it air out on my balcony.   Luckily, we’re having a very mild November here in Halifax.  So being able to work outside is great!  What a change from last fall!  I think I was in hibernation mode this time last year.

Reupholstering the chair was pretty basic. I used a few layers of batting as the new padding and stapled on the new fabric.  I used upholstery tacks to cover up the staples on the back of the chair.  Before attaching the seats to the frame, I marked out the spots where the screws would go in.  I then snipped through the fabric and batting to make it easier to put the screws in.

Here’s the final result!!

image

image

image

image

I love the result.  And even better, my client was over joyed with the chair.  The polka dot fabric was the perfect choice.  I hope the chair will continue to be a treasured hand-me-down for years to come.

No matter how many pieces of furniture I work on, I am in awe what some paint or new fabric can do. Sometimes I hear a song when I look at the final piece. Stevie Wonder’s “Isn’t she lovely!” comes to mind, especially for this chair. So sweet!

This chair is one of my favourites!

Laurena

Leave a Reply

