Shut(ter) the front door!

A couple months ago, my good friend called me up saying she had some things to get rid of.  She was emptying out stuff from her garage and kindly gave me two side tables, some cute crystal knobs and wood shutters.  At first I wasn’t sure what to do with the shutters…but I had a feeling they would look great painted in milk paint.

There were four sets of shutters.  I wanted to use a couple for myself.  So I painted two sets in Miss Mustard Seed’s milk paint in Boxwood.  I love this colour.  Such a great green.  I’ve been looking for a green that wasn’t too pale or olive green. Boxwood is just the right green.

Here’s the before of the shutters:

DSC_0714

And the after!  I’m using them as part of my Christmas decor, but will change out the wreath with something else after the Holidays.

 

IMG_0759

IMG_0756

IMG_0755

IMG_0752

image

To hang the shutters, I just nailed in the zigzag picture hangers and viola!  Perfect for wall decor.  I love how there are many options for using old shutters.  They can be used for holding postcards and mail, favourite photos, hanging wreaths or anything you want!  I may have to look for more shutters, I’d love to make a table with them sometime.

But for now, I must get painting!  More shutters to paint!

Thanks for stopping in!

Laurena

Leave a Reply

