Much needed hiatus.

It has been over 3 months since my last post!  Yikes!   I hadn’t painted anything since December and it was weird.  I love to paint, but I needed a little down time.  Christmas came around and I just wanted to enjoy the holidays, some good wine and food, and hang around family.  

The break extended into the new year and now it’s March!  I really needed some quiet the past 3 months.   For over a year I’ve had some minor health issues.   I wanted to get that under control before I focused on anything.

I just had a light bulb moment as I am typing this.  The break from painting has been like it was my turn for being ‘refinished.’   Sounds funny, but it’s true, and it has helped!  We always need time for ourselves, get back on track or figure stuff out.  Life goes by too fast sometimes!

A couple of years ago, I went through some major life stresses. While I dealt with what was going on, I started having stabbing pains in my gut.  I couldn’t eat certain foods and I felt run down.  My doctor sent me for tests and she eventually diagnosed me with IBS.  The scans and blood work showed I was a healthy lady…which was great!  But I struggled with pain, lack of sleep and was unable to find a suitable diet.  Nothing seemed to help.  I had pain in my gut…all…the…time. I lived with it for awhile, despite it being fairly annoying.

Recently I went for a colonoscopy and I had to do a ‘cleanse’ before the scope. Fun stuff.  I figured this would be the best time to find a better way to eat and handle IBS.  I stopped taking the prescriptions my doctor gave me (they didn’t work anyway).  I chose to go with Metamucil, a probiotic and some vitamins.  I finally have reached a good point.  For the past two months, I haven’t had much pain and can eat a normal diet.  So needless to say, I’m doing much better and am getting back into a normal routine.

It’s amazing what a little hiatus can do.  I’m looking forward to focusing on things I love to do.  Being active and working on furniture.   I felt weird not spending time in my workshop but I needed the break.  This weekend I painted two side tables. I’m almost finished and can’t wait to share them.

Here’s a little sneak peek….

image

Anyway, hope everyone has been doing well! I’m looking forward to getting back to writing on this blog!

Til next time,
Laurena

Leave a Reply

