Duck egg blue, dresser redo

This is the second dresser that I received from my  friend’s parents.   I did the other one in snow white milk paint (see post here).

dressers before 2.JPG

I wanted to refinish this one a little differently. For the white dresser, I had used Polyshades on the top.  The second dresser, I was able to sand the top and restain it.  I chose to use a mix of Jacobean and Provincial from Minwax.

image

It took on a dark reddish colour.  At first I was nervous what it would look like with the base colour.  I was using Duck Egg Blue, ASCP, which is a nice grey blue.  I wasn’t sure how it would look with the reddish tone dresser top.  But once I started painting, my doubts fell away.  It looked beautiful.

2016-04-19 13.25.05.jpg

I had taken the old wood knobs off and drilled new holes for some new glass knobs.  Two coats of chalk paint, slight distressing and a couple coats of satin Varathane on the whole piece.   With the Duck Egg Blue, the clear knobs, the dresser is refreshed!

IMG_0819IMG_0821IMG_0820IMG_0827IMG_0831IMG_0833

And the dresser is happy in its new home!

I’ve finished a few other projects and will post those soon.  So what project shall I start next?  I do have a few chairs to reupholster and paint.  I’m itching to get some of them finished!

Laurena

Leave a Reply

